COVID-19 (coronavirus): Latest advice for the Bond community.

Hon Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC

Professional biography

The Honourable Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC was formally elected as Bond University’s 8th Chancellor on 19th April 2016.

Dr Bennett retired as a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia in March 2016 after a distinguished career in the law.

Dr Bennett initially graduated from the University of Sydney with a Bachelor of Science Degree and subsequently completed a PhD in Cell Biology.

In 1980 she changed career track to follow a life-long interest in the law and completed an LLB at the University of New South Wales.

Dr Bennett was admitted to practice in New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Western Australia, Victoria, South Australia, Queensland and Northern Territory, and developed expertise in intellectual property, administrative law and professional misconduct.

In 1994 Dr Bennett was appointed Senior Counsel in New South Wales  and was appointed to a series of prominent roles, including the Takeovers Panel, NSW Bar Association Mediators’ Panel and the Supreme Court of New South Wales Mediators’ Panel. She also served as an Acting Judge of the Equity Division of the Supreme Court of New South Wales. 

In addition to an appointment as a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia, Dr Bennett has served as the President of the Copyright Tribunal of Australia, Arbitrator of the Court of Arbitration for Sport, Presidential Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal and an Additional Judge of the Supreme Court of the ACT.

Her experience in Science has included serving on the Pharmacy Board of NSW, as a former President of the Australian Academy of Forensic Sciences 2003-05, as a Member of the Genetic Manipulation Advisory Committee, a Member of the Biotechnology Consultative Group (BIOCOG) to the Commonwealth Government, as a Member-Vaccine Working Group of Australian National Council on AIDS, the Advisory Committee of the Australian Law Reform Commission on the Gene Patenting & Human Health Reference, and most significantly as the Chairman of the National Health and Medical Research Council.

Dr Bennett has also had a strong background in higher education. In 1998, she joined the Council of the Australian National University and served for over a decade as Pro Chancellor. Further, Dr Bennett currently sits on the Advisory Board of the Faculty of Law of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, which provides additional insight into trends and developments in global education.

Dr Bennett’s strong commitment to the community is evidenced by her service to various non-profit organisations including positions as a Trustee of the Centennial Park and Moore Park Trust, Director of the Sydney Children’s Hospital Foundation (formerly the Prince of Wales Children's Hospital Foundation), Member of the Board of the Eastern Sydney Area Health Service, Director of the Management Committee of Westmead Research Institute and Member of the Board of the United Dental Hospital Sydney.

In 2005 she was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for service to the law, particularly in the areas of intellectual property, administrative law and professional conduct; and to the community.

Former Chancellors

  • Dr Helen Nugent AO
    Chancellor 22 May 2009 - 19 April 2016
  • Dr Trevor Rowe AO
    Chancellor 30 May 2003 to 22 May 2009
  • Dr Imelda Roche AO
    Chancellor 5 August 1999 to 25 November 1999 (Acting)
    Chancellor 25 November 1999 to 30 May 2003
  • Dr Paul Scully-Power AM, DSM, NSM
    Chancellor 1 January 1998 to 5 August 1999
  • Emeritus Professor Harry Messel AC CBE
    Chancellor 3 April 1992 to 31 December 1997
    Executive Chancellor 7 February 1993 to 2 March 1996
  • Ms Elizabeth Nosworthy AO
    Acting Chancellor from March 1990
    Chancellor 1991 to 11 February 1992
  • Sir Sydney Schubert
    From inception in 1987 to 13 March 1990