Skip to main content
Start of main content.

University Council and committees

University Council

Bond University Council is the peak governing body of the University, operating as the Board of Bond University Limited.

Comprising 10 Councillors, Council is accountable to University stakeholders and the wider community to ensure the University is managed prudently, efficiently, and in compliance with all relevant regulations. Council leads the University’s community of students, staff and others to meet and advance the University’s goals and objectives. 

Apart from the Vice Chancellor, all Councillors are non-executive and are elected based on the skills and experience they bring to the Council.

Bond’s Constitution provides for the rotation of Councillors, whereby no Councillor may serve for more than the maximum term allowed under the Constitution.

Council is responsible for:

  • Strategic direction
  • Financial supervision
  • Risk management
  • Key appointments
  • Approving financial and other delegations
  • Stakeholder relations
  • Formally meeting with Company members at least twice a year
  • Communicating with University stakeholders: students, staff, alumni, and the community regarding University performance and major activities

Council members

The Chancellor

Headshot of Hon. Dr Annabelle Bennett, Bond University Chancellor

Hon Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC

The Honourable Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC was formally elected as Bond University’s eighth Chancellor on 19 April, 2016.

The Chancellor is responsible for providing leadership to the Council. This appointment is wide-reaching and includes a number of responsibilities, from facilitating discussion on Council and University matters, to managing Council’s relationship with the senior management of the University. 

The Honourable Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC has had a distinguished career in the law and in higher education. She began her career in science, completing a Bachelor of Science and PhD in cell biology. But in the early 80s, she changed careers to follow a lifelong interest in the law, which saw her appointed as Senior Counsel in New South Wales in 1994, and to a series of prominent legal and advisory roles. Before being elected to the role of Chancellor, Dr Bennett retired as a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia in March 2016.

In 2005, Dr Bennett was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for 'service to the law, particularly in the areas of intellectual property, administrative law and professional conduct; and to the community through a range of educational, medical, women’s and business organisations'. This was upgraded to a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2019.

Other members

In addition to the Chancellor and Vice Chancellor, there are eight other members of the Council. Councillors possess a wide range of skills, qualifications and experience in the academic, corporate, political, and cultural spheres.

Potential candidates for appointment or election to the Bond University Council and as Ordinary Members of the Company are selected by the Nominations Advisory Committee.

The Nominations Advisory Committee is made up of six members of the Company: three appointed by Bond University Council and three selected from the Ordinary Members of the Company elected by the Ordinary Members of the Company at the Annual General Meeting.

Other Committees of the University

Academic Senate


University Management Committee

The overall management of the University is steered by the University Management Committee, chaired by the Vice Chancellor.

  • Vice Chancellor and President (Chair)
  • Vice President Engagement
  • Vice President Operations
  • Vice President Future Students
  • Provost
  • University Registrar
  • Executive Dean, Business
  • Executive Dean, Health Sciences & Medicine
  • Executive Dean, Society & Design
  • Executive Dean, Law 


Other standing committees

Bond University has a number of other standing committees of Council, including:  

  • Audit Risk and Safety Committee
  • Nominations Advisory Committee 

Membership of Company

The Membership of Bond University Limited is made up of 30 members, drawn from alumni, staff, students and external community.

With the exception of those drawn from the community, Ordinary Members are elected by the relevant stakeholder group. Community members are elected at the Annual General Meeting from a group nominated for election by University Council, based on the recommendations of the Nominations Advisory Committee. 

Student members serve a one-year term and may serve two consecutive terms. All other members are elected for the maximum term that is set out in the Constitution of the Company. 

The current membership of Bond University Limited is:

Trustee Members

While not part of the voting membership of the Company, Trustee Members meet with the Chancellor annually to discuss the direction of the University and related issues. The Trustee Members are appointed by Bond University Council.

Award of Doctor of the University (DUniv)

From time to time the University Council wishes to acknowledge significant contributions made to the University or to society generally by members of staff, former members of staff and members of the wider community.


Discover more