Faculty of Society & Design competitions

The Faculty of Society & Design is proud to present the Bond University Film & Television Awards (BUFTA) as one of the premier film competitions for High School students around Australia.

BUFTA is a short film competition which attracts and showcases aspiring young filmmakers from across the country. Open to all Year 11 and 12 secondary school students in Australia, the competition provides a platform for developing and advancing limitless ambitions for a future career in the film industry. Originally started in 1996, BUFTA is now recognised as one of the most rewarding competitions in the Southern Hemisphere.

The philosophy behind BUFTA is to offer a system of recognition for today's young filmmakers. There are six categories for films to be entered: Drama, Comedy, Documentary, Animation, Experimental and Music Video. Winners are announced at the Gala Award Ceremony and prizes include the most outstanding film in each category as well as a host of craft awards. Each year, the Best Overall Filmmaker is awarded a full scholarship to study a Bachelor of Film and Television at Bond University. Twenty-one (and counting) years later, BUFTA continues to serve as a celebration of young talent within the film industry and thrives to deepen the commitment and passion of young Australian filmmakers.

To learn more about BUFTA, visit the BUFTA website or LIKE us on Facebook!
Learn more about Bond University and our Bachelor of Film & Television 

BUFTA 2016

Hear from past BUFTA winners

Key Dates


Competition opens: 1 MAY 2017

Competition closing date: TBA


Coming to a school near you!

If you would like us to visit your high school, please email: fsdevents@bond.edu.au with an expression of interest

Victoria13 March 2017  - 15 March 2017
South Australia15 March 2017 - 17 March 2017
Western Australia3 April 2017 - 7 April 2017
Supanova (Gold Coast)21 April - 23 April 2017
Gold Coast & surroundsUpon request

* Dates subject to change


Screen Writing & Cinematography Workshops


Saturday, 25 November 2017

To watch the 2016 ceremony live, click here.