COVID-19 (coronavirus): Latest advice for the Bond community.

Council committees & members


The current Council members are as follows:

  • Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC, Chancellor
  • Professor Tim Brailsford, Vice Chancellor & President
  • Mr David Baxby
  • Mr Derek Cronin
  • Professor Daryl Le Grew AO
  • Mr Victor Hoog Antink, Chairman of the Audit and Risk Management Committee and Occupational Health and Safety Committee
  • Ms Lisa MacCallum
  • Ms Lisa Paul AO PSM
  • Dr Manny Pohl AM
  • Ms Kate Vidgen

Council is empowered under the Bond University Act (Qld 1987-1989) to oversee the operational performance and to set strategic direction of the University.

Council is accountable to University stakeholders and the broader community to ensure the University is managed prudently, efficiently and in compliance with all relevant regulations. Council leads the University community of students, staff and others to meet and advance the University's goals and objectives.

Each councillor performs their duty in accordance with their obligations under the Corporations Law. Specifically, Council is responsible for the following:

  • Strategic Direction
  • Financial Supervision
  • Risk Management
  • Making Key Appointments
  • Approving financial and other delegations
  • Stakeholder Relations
  • Formally meeting with Company members at least twice a year
  • Communicating with University stakeholders: students, staff and the community regarding University performance and major activities

Apart from the Vice Chancellor, all Councillors are non-executive and are elected on the basis of the skills and experience they bring to the Council. Council determines which skills are required to meet its objectives.

A Councillor's term of office is outlined in the Constitution, which provides for the rotation of Councillors. No Councillor may serve for more than six years and eleven months, consecutively.

In accordance with an initiative of the Australian Chancellors Council and Universities Australia, Council has implemented a sound governance statement which fully complies with that statement. Each year, Council reports on its compliance with said statement in its annual report.

Nominations Advisory Committee

The Constitution establishes a Nominations Advisory Committee whose functions are to identify potential candidates for appointment or election to the University Council and candidates for election as Community (i.e. ordinary members of the Company). The Committee makes recommendations to the University Council regarding the suitability of potential candidates.

The Committee is constituted by six members of the Company. Three of the Committee members are appointed by Council and three members are elected, as required, by members of the Company at the Annual General Meeting. The non-Council appointed Committee members are elected from the membership of the Company.

Council skills matrix

Each year Council reviews a skills and experience matrix, ensuring there is the necessary breadth of experience in order for Council to execute its obligations efficiently, with relevant expertise readily available. Council periodically determines which skills are required, measuring those skills against the skills matrix.

The collective skill sets currently considered desirable for Council are:

  • Education
  • Accounting
  • Communications/Technology
  • Corporate
  • Finance
  • General Business or Commercial
  • Governance
  • Health and Community Service
  • Legal
  • Overseas Experience
  • Property

The Nominations Advisory Committee applies the skills matrix when considering candidates for Council and in recommending suitable people to be elected as Councillors by the members.

Membership of the company

Ordinary members of the Company are elected by the relevant stakeholder group and serve a three-year term, after which they are eligible for re-election.

Apart from student members, no member may serve more than six years and eleven months, consecutively.

Student members serve a one-year term. However, they may serve two consecutive terms.

The current membership of Bond University Ltd is as follows:

Council ordinary members

Appointed by the University Council

  • Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC (ex-officio)
  • Mr Victor P Hoog Antink

Staff ordinary members

Elected by members of staff

  • Ms Gina Coetzee
  • Associate Professor Adrian Gepp
  • Associate Professor Justin Keogh
  • Mr Jason Murray
  • Mr Makarand Parulkar
  • Mr Marlon Sayer

12 Alumni ordinary members

Elected by University Alumni

  • Ms Eleanor Donovan
  • Mr Nathan Goetz
  • Ms Chloe Kent
  • Mr John Massey
  • Mr Luke McDonald
  • Mr Matthew McLean
  • Ms Annabelle Simon
  • Ms Danieka Strathdee
  • Ms Amy Marie Stroud
  • Ms Tanille Turner
  • Ms Jade Weller
  • Mr Daniel Wood

1 Postgraduate student ordinary member

Elected by postgraduate students of the University

  • Mr Douglas Higgins

1 Undergraduate student ordinary member

Elected by undergraduate students of the University

  • Ms Isabella Kourkounakis

8 Community ordinary members

Elected by the members of the Company at the Annual General Meeting

  • Mr Tom Ray
  • Mrs Peta Fielding
  • Mr Trevor Dietz
  • Mr Kerry Watson
  • Mr Patrick Wallas
  • Ms Marion Charlton
  • Ms Julie Warwick
  • Mr Heath Hill

Trustee members

The Council is empowered to appoint trustee members whom, whilst not part of the voting membership of the Company, meet with the Chancellor annually to discuss the direction of the University and related issues. The current Trustee members are:

  • The Hon Richard Alston AO
  • Dr Barry Arnison OAM
  • Dr Neil Balnaves AO
  • Ms Judith Brinsmead
  • Dr Betty Byrne-Henderson AM
  • Mr Jack Cowin
  • Mr Brian Finn AO
  • Dr Peter Heiner AM
  • Mr Bob Hill
  • Mr Peter Ivany AM
  • Mr Terry Jackman AM
  • Ms Margaret May RFD
  • Mr Terry Morris
  • Dr Kenichi Ohmae
  • Mr Greg Paramor
  • Dr Imelda Roche AO
  • Dr Trevor Rowe AO
  • Mr Basil Sellers AM