Skip to main content
Start of main content.

Blues awards winners

2020/21 Blues Awards winners

Due to the COVID19 pandemic, there was no Blues Awards evening held for 2020. The ceremony in March 2022 awarded the recipients for the years 2020 and 2021.

Bree Masters (Athletics) and Jean van der Westhuyzen (Kayaking) took out top honours of the night, both awarded Sportsperson of the Year for their outstanding international performances in 2020.

Madeleine Gough (Swimming) and Alexander Graham (Swimming) were awarded Sportspersons of the Year for 2021 for their achievements at the Tokyo Olympics.

Champion Club was awarded to the Bond AFL, for their performances in the 2020 and 2021 seasons with all four teams making it to the grand final matches.

Bond Director of AFL Dave Ashkar won Coach of the Year for driving the club's culture by modelling the vlaues and trademarks. He creates an environment valuing growth and development allowing numerous players to receive opportunities at higher grades.

The 2020 Elite Sport Scholar was awarded to BESP netball athlete Ashleigh Keefe, who after graduating from a Bachelor of Exercise and Sports Science has now also completed a Master of Nutrition and Dietetic Practice. The 2021 Elite Sport Scholar award went to Claire Dooley, studying a Bachelor of Biomedical Science with a 96% cumulative average. Claire is a mogul skiier who trains in Canada and competes in Europe.

Our award winners