COVID-19 (coronavirus): Latest advice for the Bond community.

Centre for Commercial Law

About the Centre

The Centre for Commercial Law was established in 1989 as the Taxation and Corporate Research Centre. The Centre can be contacted via [email protected].

The key objectives of the Centre are to:

  • Provide a Centre of excellence for research, teaching, seminars, conferences, colloquia and publications in the area of commercial law.
  • Encourage and organise interaction with Australian and overseas scholars and legal and business practitioners and related professional groups.
  • Initiate and develop transnational and global links for the various programs of the Centre; and aspire to be at the forefront of electronic publishing and blended educational presentation techniques.
  • Actively participate in work towards appropriate law reform in the area of commercial law.

The research and publication areas of the Centre are extensive, covering topics such as:

  • market access issues (goods and services) and trade practices law
  • corporations law
  • corporate governance law
  • mergers and takeovers by foreign owned enterprises
  • emerging trends and needs in relation to internet and e-commerce law
  • data privacy law
  • financial regulations and institutions and banking
  • uniform labour standards and “comparative advantage”
  • human rights issues affecting domestic and international commercial laws
  • environmental, mining and petroleum concerns
  • food law and governance
  • implementation of international economic laws and the impact on domestic competition (anti-trust) law
  • intellectual property issues in commercial law
  • income taxation, capital gains taxation, GST, international taxation
  • application of commercial laws to sports and the sports industry
  • law of franchising.
  • Professor Duncan Bentley, Victoria University
  • Pascale Bloch, Paris 13 University
  • Gerard Carney, Curtin University
  • Dr Greg Bitomsky, Brisbane
  • Ms Amanda Coulthard, Barrister, Queensland
  • Professor James Cox, Duke University
  • Professor Hans de Wulf, University of Ghent
  • Cecilia Magnusson Sjoberg, Stockholm University
  • Professor John McNulty, University of California
  • Mr Ken MacPherson, Adelaide
  • Professor Philip Postlewaite, Northwestern University
  • Mr Martin Smith, New Zealand Revenue Department
  • Professor Bruce Welling, University of Western Ontario