

Academic Senate INDIGENOUS CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Indigenous Consultative Committee is a Standing Committee of Academic Senate and provides oversight of all Indigenous programs and initiatives within Bond University.

Terms of Reference

The Committee keeps under review and advises Academic Senate, and where appropriate, the Vice Chancellor, on:

- 1. The use of Indigenous Student Success Program (ISSP) Grants;
- 2. Bond University's Indigenous Education Strategy;
- 3. Bond University's Indigenous Workforce Strategy;
- 4. The strategic direction of the Nyombil Centre and Indigenous programs and initiatives within Bond University;
- 5. Bond University's Indigenous scholarship selection processes; and
- 6. Other such matters as may be referred to it.

Membership

- Deputy Vice Chancellor (Students & Academic Support) Chair
- Nyombil Centre Elder in Residence and Bond University Fellow
- Manager, Nyombil Centre
- Indigenous Cultural Support Officer
- Two (2) Indigenous academic staff members nominated by the Chair
- Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) or nominee
- Chair of Academic Senate or nominee
- Executive Director, Office of People, Planning & Strategy
- One (1) Indigenous student nominated by the President of the Bond University Students Association
- One (1) Indigenous student nominated by the Manager, Nyombil Centre

A quorum for the Committee is five (5) and must include a majority of Indigenous members and at least one (1) Indigenous student.

Nominated members serve for a term of three (3) years and student members serve for a term of one (1) year. Members may serve consecutive terms if so nominated.

The Manager, Academic Secretariat, or nominee will act as Secretary for the Committee. The Secretary will provide the Committee with administrative support and advice but will not have a vote in any decisions made by the Committee.

The Committee will meet at least once per semester and report to Academic Senate following each meeting.



INDIGENOUS CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

Membership

11 Dec 2018

(Quorum = 5, including a majority of Indigenous members and 1 Indigenous student member)

Name	Position	Start Date	End Date
Mr Alan Finch	Deputy Vice Chancellor (Students & Academic Support) (Chair)	N/A	N/A
Aunty Joyce Summers	Nyombil Centre Elder in Residence and Bond University Fellow	N/A	N/A
Mr Jason Murray	Manager, Nyombil Centre	N/A	N/A
Ms Narelle Urquhart	Indigenous Cultural Support Officer	N/A	N/A
Dr Shannon Springer Assistant Professor Narelle Bedford	Indigenous academic staff members nominated by the Chair	05/17	05/20
Professor Keitha Dunstan	Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)	N/A	N/A
Dr Linda Crane	Chair of Academic Senate or nominee	N/A	N/A
Mr Ken Richardson	Executive Director, Strategy, Systems and People Office	N/A	N/A
Giselle Kilner-Parmenter	Indigenous student nominated by the President, BUSA	August 2018	August 2019
Dani Larkin	Indigenous student nominated by the Manager, Nyombil Centre	August 2017	August 2019
Ms Julia Caetano	Secretary (Manager, Academic Secretariat, or nominee)		