COVID-19 (coronavirus): Latest advice for the Bond community.

Changes to quarantine requirement for close contacts

28 April

Changes to quarantine requirement for close contacts

From 6pm AEST Thursday 28 April 2022, there are no quarantine requirements for close contacts as long as they:

You are a close contact if you have been with a person that has COVID-19 or you've spent more than 4 hours with a person who has COVID-19 in a house or other accommodation (such as an apartment, shared accommodation, residential aged care facility or hospital).

You are not a close contact if you have been in a separate part of the house or accommodation with your own entry, and you have not had contact with the diagnosed person or used any shared or common areas they've been in for more than four hours.

For more information see:

COVID-19 Management - Update

14 April 2022

What to do if you have COVID

Follow five simple steps to prepare yourself if you have COVID

Quarantine and testing requirements for a close contact

Who counts as a close contact and what to do if you become a close contact

Upcoming easing of restrictions in Queensland

From 6pm AEST Friday 4 March 2022:

  • Masks will no longer be required indoors, except in healthcare settings, residential aged care, disability accommodation, prisons, public transport, airports and on planes.
  • Masks will no longer be required in schools, including for staff, students and visitors.
  • Masks will still be recommended whenever you can’t social distance.
  • There will be no limit on the number of visitors you can have in your home at one time.
  • Venues and events will no longer have density limits.

Until then, current face mask requirements (see below) and other public health and social measures remain in effect.

Changes to Queensland's border restrictions at 13 December 2021

From 1am AEST Monday 13 December 2021, Queensland’s border restrictions will ease further, following Queensland achieving 80% of the eligible population fully vaccinated. See here for a summary of the new rules.  For more detailed information please see Border Restrictions Direction (No. 56).

Quarantine and other Requirements for International Arrivals at 13 December 2021

The new Quarantine for International Arrivals Direction (No. 15) will come into effect from 1am AEST Monday 13 December 2021. Changes to quarantine arrangements for persons arriving from overseas are summarised here.

06 December 2021: Queensland reopening and NSW COVID-19 border bubble rules explained

  • People who have been in hotspots in New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia will be able to enter the state from 1:00am next Monday (13th).
  • Fully vaccinated border residents will be able to move freely across the border, though they will need a border pass.  Border passes will be valid for 14 days at a time.
  • Queensland residents – from anywhere in the state – will be able to travel into the NSW side of the border zone freely, but if they venture further south, they will need to comply with the hotspot rules.

For example, a fully vaccinated Toowoomba couple can take a day trip to Byron Bay and return, but if they spent the weekend in Coffs Harbour, they will need negative test results before being permitted back over the border.

  • Unvaccinated residents of the border zone will be restricted to travel for essential purposes, just as they are now.
  • Fully vaccinated people will be able to enter Queensland by road or air and will not need to quarantine.

They will need to have had a negative COVID test result returned within 72 hours of their arrival, then get tested again five days after arrival.

People who aren't fully vaccinated will need to arrive by air and undergo 14 days of hotel quarantine.

  • People arriving from overseas must be fully vaccinated and have received a negative COVID test result within 72 hours of their arrival. They will also need to be tested on arrival, then go into quarantine — either at home or in a hotel — for 14 days.

29 November 2021: Federal government pauses international arrivals for students and visa holders as it awaits information on Omicron COVID

Further to the announcement from the Prime Minister on 22 November 2021, it has today been agreed following a meeting of the National Security Committee of Federal Cabinet, that the Australia border opening, and measures previously detailed, will now be postponed from 1 December 2021 to 15 December 2021. This will enable more to be understood about Omicron, the new circulating variant of the coronavirus.

In light of the above, it will now be from 15 December 2021, that fully vaccinated eligible visa holders will be able to enter Australia without first needing to be granted a travel exemption. This is subject to change, contingent on further assessment of Omicron.

28 November 2021: Updated Travel Restrictions - Omicron

Travel restrictions are now in place for people who have been in South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Seychelles, Mozambique, or Malawi in the last 14 days.

Australian citizens, permanent residents or their immediate family members entering Australia who have been in South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Seychelles, Mozambique, or Malawi in the last 14 days must enter supervised quarantine for 14 days in line with state and territory requirements, irrespective of their vaccination status.

Any other travellers who have been in South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Seychelles, Mozambique, or Malawi in the last 14 days are not permitted to enter Australia, even if they hold a travel exemption, eligible visa or are seeking to enter under a Safe Travel Zone arrangement.

State and territories are updating their entry requirements for all arrivals in relation to the new Omicron variant, so please check relevant health advice to ensure you have the most up to date information.